## The 2012 Thomson Medal Award

## **Call for Nominations**

Nominations are requested from national mass spectrometry societies and groups for the 2012 Thomson Medals. The winners will be awarded during the 2012 International Mass Spectrometry Conference in Kyoto, Japan (September 15-21 2012).

The Thomson Medals are named after Sir J. J. Thomson, who was responsible for the first mass spectrograph and its resulting data more than 100 years ago. He also predicted many features of modern mass spectrometry. He discovered the electron using mass spectrometry and won the Nobel Prize in 1906 for his research.

The Medals are sponsored by the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation (IMSF), and were first awarded in 1985. The previous winners were:

2009: C Costello, C C Fenselau and P Roepstorff

2006: J H Bowie, M L Gross and M Karas

2003: R B Caprioli, F Hillenkamp and V L Talrose

2000: J B Fenn, D F Hunt and A G Marshall

1997: M T Bowers, D E Games and J F J Todd

1994: C Brunnée, C Djerassi and H Schwarz

1991: K Biemann, H Matsuda and N M M Nibbering

1985: J H Beynon, R G Cooks, K R Jennings, F W McLafferty and A O C Nier

The rules for the nomination process are as follows:

- 1. Nominations are to be made only by members of the IMSF's Governing Committee.
- 2. Each Governing Committee representative may make up to three nominations. Each nomination is limited to the length of one page and should detail the principal achievements of the nominee. (Deadline 31 October 2011)

- 3. Award winners should be accomplished in both of the following areas:
  - (a). Outstanding achievements in mass spectrometry;
  - (b). Distinguished services to international mass spectrometry societies.

Those involved in the nomination and voting process should note that the words "for service to international mass spectrometry" are inscribed on the medals.

4. A preliminary vote, using the Hare system (5, 4, 3, 2, 1), will determine the top 9 candidates. The voters will consist of members from the IMSF Governing Committee. (Deadline 31 December 2011)

- 5. The sponsors of the top 9 candidates will each submit additional information on the candidates' achievements, limited to no more than 5 pages. (Only one sponsor is permitted per candidate; in the event that there is more than one sponsor per candidate, the multiple sponsors will agree on a single sponsor.) This material may include up to two letters which are for information only, and should not be seen as a form of endorsement
- 6. A second vote by the Governing Committee, using the same voting system, will select the top three candidates as the award winners. (**Deadline 30 April 2012**)
- 7. Nominations should be sent to the chair of the 2012 Thomson Award Committee through e-mail: Prof. Jentaie Shiea (jentaieshiea@gmail.com)